#ManiMonday, February 6

Happy February! While frequently the worst month of the year weather-wise, I’m very excited for this month because it is Black History Month, the boyfriend and I are celebrating his 26th birthday in Gettysburg, PA, and I have so many books to read!

In addition to finally finishing up Smokey Mountain Lacquers Fallin’ for Holos collection (fall 2015), my goal for the month is to get through 8 books by black authors about black history. Funnily enough, for this Mani Monday, I’m slacking on both fronts:

Though I started Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly on the first of the img_8512month, I’ve made it a meager 50 pages into the book. To be sure, it is fascinating and gives me chills every other page, I’m just exhausted – between work being busy and making the trip home this weekend, I haven’t had much time to sleep and relax (read: read!).

That being said, these women are true heroes and now that their story has finally been brought to the light of day, I wanted to wear a polish that was unique, fabulous, and wonderful to honor them. I picked out Love, Angeline’s group exclusive, 02/16 for this week’s manicure. It is probably one of the most beautiful holo polishes I own. The spectroflair is fantastic and the color of the polish – a bright pink (leaning violet)/magenta – is absolutely delightful. Application, as per usual from Love, Angeline, is perfection. 1 coat got it done, but I did 2 just to be safe (and also because of habit). These two coats were sandwiched between Dream Polish Gem Stick Base Coat and Love, Angeline Topped with Love.

Leave a Reply

