#ManiMonday, January 9

So, at almost a week late, I’m starting the New Year off right! In my defense, I’ve been waffling back and forth on whether or not I want bring two of my 2017 goals together and if yes, how I should going about doing that. I’ve decided that I will and since y’all know that I want to get through my polish collection, I’ll key you into the second goal: I want to read 52 books this year – one book a week from January 1 to December 31. I plan to pull inspiration for my nails from the imagery of the book or the cover and give a few thoughts on the book itself, in case anyone is interested in checking it out too. Without further ado, I present the first of many posts this year that involve both my love of books and nail polish:

This #ManiMonday was inspired by my first book of the year: The Road by Cormac McCarthy. My boyfriend was insistent that I read the book this year (he was 3/4 of the way through it and said it was great), so I downloaded it onto my Kindle and started reading.

The story is about a man and his son making their way across a post-apocalyptic

img_8378
Amazon Kindle produced circa 2010

America. McCarthy does an excellent job vividly describing the desolate landscape and often made me feel as though I was in this horrific grey-tinged world. While I never will get my answer as to what caused nature and mind kind’s demise in this story, it was an excellent mix of suspenseful story telling and thought provoking prose. One paragraph of the book was so dark and harsh, but truly representative of the world McCarthy crafted. The bite and bitterness of these few sentences is so palpable within the main character that it stopped and made me stop and think:

Do you think that your fathers are watching? That they weigh you in their ledger book? Against what? There is no book and your fathers are dead in the ground.

I thought the imagery and feel of the book fitting since the next color I wanted to get on my nails was a grey called Smokey Mountain Fog by Smokey Mountain LacquersLike Koko 2.0 featured in last week’s post, this is from their 2015 fall collection and is no longer available on their website. As per usual, I sandwiched Smokey Mountain Fog between Dream Polish Gem Glam Base Coat and Love, Angeline Topped with Love.

img_8376The grey holo is BEAUTIFUL. I really love this cool-toned color. My only disappointment with the polish was the wear – it started chipping less than 12 hours later. In it’s defense, I was cleaning and vigorously using my hands the whole next day and I very well could have done a terrible job at wrapping the day before. On top of that, my nails were longer than I was accustomed to (and also peeling!), so that also could have also contributed to the chipping.

Ultimately, I think Smokey Mountain Fog and The Road ended up being the perfect pair for this week: grey, a little disappointing, and a small beacon of light (or holo) to wrap it all up.

Leave a Reply

