#ManiMonday: December 28

Perhaps the hardest part of being a grown adult nail addict is that people don’t know what to get you for holidays or birthdays… mainly because I buy so much of it on my own. I did manage to get hooked up with the e.l.f. 20 polish set and a Mary Kay polish in an adorable ornament. Since I got the adorable Mary Kay polish ornament first from friends Christmas, I wanted to try that one first (Mary Kay also has some really great products and I’ve always wanted to try their polish).

Ashley, the gift giver, got this particular color because it’s similar to one of my favorite, go-to lipstick shades that she also thinks looks great on me. She recommended I do a simple holly manicure for Christmas, but lacking the patience to free hand I opted to do something different, festive and simple.

The Inspiration
Berry Stylish Nail Lacquer from Mary Kay

The Nail Polish
Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Pink Sugar
Mary Kay Nail Lacquer in Berry Stylish
Revlon Colorstay in Trade Winds
Dream Polish Gem Glam Top Coat in Pink Sugar

IMG_5057

The Tools
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Nail Pre-Polish Nail Treatment
KBShimmer Chevron Nail Vinyls
Northern Star Polish Cuticle Oil in Enchanted Apple
Jolie Polish Clean-up Brush

IMG_5056

The Finished Product

IMG_5055
no flash
IMG_5058
with flash

Holy crap. Love, love, LOVE this color. The Berry Stylish went on so smooth and would have been good with one coat, but some areas were a little streaky. Two coats was perfection. The formula of this polish was spot on and I think I need more Mary Kay polishes in my life. Too bad they are currently sold out! Without the flash (and in the current lighting), Berry Stylish is a perfect vampy-wine red. Both photos demonstrate how great of a festive holiday color it is for this time of year.

I had to re-do the accent nail because the Revlon wasn’t drying at the same pace as the top coat, so it caused some ugly wrinkles and pulling when I tried to use the vinyl. I think these two colors compliment each other very well. I’m looking forward to doing some more work with both of them together.

Leave a Reply

