Happy Thanksgiving!

IMG_4729
My sister and I entertaining ourselves with snapchat before dinner.

This year, I am thankful for so many things. As always, I am thankful for my friends and family. I’m also incredibly thankful for my job – everyday I get to make a difference in the lives of New Jerseyans. But what I’m really thankful this year is literacy. Without the ability to read and write, I would not be able to be a part of the indie nail polish community or contribute in my own small ways. Hell, I wouldn’t be able to do anything I regularly do, like my job or even read for entertainment. (And I’ll take this small moment to thank my mom, specifically, for reading to me as a child and instilling a love of reading in me).

In reality, without being literate or my job, I really wouldn’t have the time or money to put to my obsession hobby. So, in honor of that, I did some Thanksgiving nails inspired by delicious, delicious pumpkin pie.

IMG_4725In a Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat and Gem Glam Top Coat (both in Pink Sugar) sandwich, I painted on two even coats of Smokey Mountain Lacquers Golden Maple Leaves. Golden Maple Leaves is a beautiful, warm holo orange that looks like the filling of a cooked pumpkin pie (yum!). I waited for that to dry before sticking on the Whats Up Nails leaf vinyl on my ring finger and dabbing on Bark from ExuberAnt Polish. If you don’t remember from that time I swatched ExerberAnt’s fall trio, Bark is the perfect holo fall brown. On each of my thumbs, I took three of the golden leaf vinyl pop-outs and arranged them delicately (the polish was still impressionable!).

Since both of the polishes are gorgeous holos, the leaf pattern is a little difficult to see. My ring finger along with my thumb make for interesting and nice accent nails, both of which are perfect for Thanksgiving.


 

  1. Jersey Cares 20th Annual Coat Drive – Coats go to those in need across the state. If you live in NJ, check out JerseyCares.org for your nearest collection site location. If there isn’t one near you, or you live out of state and still want to contribute to the cause, visit our YouGiveGoods page to donate a brand new coat.
  2. Reading is Fundamental – RIF, my sorority’s (Kappa Kappa Gamma) philanthropy, brings books to children in poverty in an effort to close the achievement gap. The ability to read can change the direction of a child’s life. Donate here.
Leave a Reply

