#ManiMonday: November 16

I’m feeling pretty refreshed after my two week #ManiMonday hiatus. Like I mentioned in my last post, the goal is to keep it simple and use polishes that I haven’t used before. With all of the polish I’ve gotten in the past few months, there’s definitely a lot I have to get through (which I started on Saturday with Polished for Days!). One color I immediately fell in love with was Jolie Polish’s Rose Gold. I used it on my most recent mani, but with prodding from Bory and my want to use it in a manicure, I figure this #ManiMonday would be the perfect time.

The Inspiration

IMG_4483

The Polish
Dream Polish Gem Stick Base Coat in Bird of Paradise
Jolie Polish Rose Gold
Dream Polish Gem Glam Top Coat in Sun + Sand

IMG_4478

The Tools
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Prep
What’s Up Nails Fleur de Lis Water Decals
Jolie Polish Clean Up Brush
Love & Lotus Whipped Body Butter in Acai & Mangosteen

IMG_4476

The Finished Product

IMG_4479

This polish. Oh. My. God. Jolie Polish has amazing polishes but I think this one takes the cake. First of all, the color is beautiful; it’s like a holo but also a metallic color? I don’t know, but it’s gorgeous. It applies like a dream and only needs one coat. It’s perfect – buy it right this second. The water decal from What’s Up Nails is awesome too – it’s a sheet and you can cut out the part that you want. I mean, you could do this with other water decals that come in the nail shape too, but this one is specifically made for it. The only downside with this particular pattern was that the fleur de lis did not want to come off my finger, even with acetone! I did a lot of hand washing/rubbing to get all of it off. Next time, I’ll be sure to use my trusty Jolie Polish Nooks & Crannies. As far as the Whipped Body Butter by Love & Lotus, it smells like a sweet tart and absorbs into the skin very quickly. It needs a few minutes to stop feeling greasy, but once it does, it leaves the skin feeling smooth and moisturized.

With all the tragedy going on in the world, I wanted to do this manicure to honor the people of France. Paris inspires imagery of class and refinement. I thought that the rose gold perfectly represent those two qualities in a color form. Additionally, the fleur de lis is a symbol of friendship – which I am for to those experiencing tragedy and horror throughout the world (even here in my own country). Now is a time of coming together and understanding and that’s what I want to be a part of.

Leave a Reply

