Cancer Awareness

Earlier this week, I was on a mission for work to pick up some items for an upcoming project. As I got into the car, Irresistible by Fall Out Boy (Featuring Demi Levato) came on and I totally rocked out. This song was one of my favorites from the album – the lyrics are really smart and totally quotable.The lyrics, coupled with the sweet beat, make me want to go out and take on the world. There are a few lines from Irresistible that got stuck in my head (and that I really love):

You ought to keep me concealed just like I was a weapon
I didn’t come for a fight but I will fight till the end
And this one might be a battle, might not turn out okay

I think these few lines in particular are how we portray or characterize having cancer – survivors didn’t go out of their way to get cancer, but they will take it on until the end, no matter the outcome.

KHEW4267
Daylight, with flash

That night, as I was singing this song to myself, my eyes fell upon the Philly Loves Lacquer Hella Holo Customs exclusive, Rock On Harriet! I thought it was pretty fitting to rock this polish for the rest of the week.

This polish is a tribute to the creator’s mother who overcame breast cancer. Additionally, 20% of the proceeds from all of the HHC polishes this month are going to the National Breast Cancer Foundation, which is really awesome. (If you aren’t in the HHC Group and are a fan of Philly Loves Lacquer, join the Philly Loves Lacquer Collective on Facebook to learn more about how to join the Hella Holo Customs group).

IMG_4219
Sunlight, no flash

I had also just received my new Dream Polish base coats and top coats in some limited edition fall scents and a few ’round the year scents, all of which I wanted to try out. I used the Gem Stick Base Coat in Maple Apple to start out which smelled seriously delicious. Then, I painted Rock On, Harriet! (two coats in total) and then Gothic Gala Lacquers Wop Bam Boom from the summer Beauty Quartet Box. I topped it all off with Dream Polish Gem Glam Top Coat in Pink Sugar (the Maple Apple/Pink Sugar combo made me want to eat my fingers it smelled so good!)

IMG_4222
Daylight, no flash

This was my first time using a polish from Gothic Gala Lacquers and I definitely was not disappointed. Application was smooth and the glitter was very dense, making full coverage in an easy two coats. I think Rock On, Harriet! from PhLL is beautiful, but I’m very happy I have the darker accent nail to offset the super bright neon. Interestingly, when I was applying the PhLL polish that night, the color didn’t meet my expectations (check out Instagram, there are tons of beautiful swatches and at the time, the color just didn’t compare to what I had seen!). As soon as I was in real daylight the next morning I was beyond excited about this mani. Application was a breeze – it went on so easily that I only used the clean-up brush on a few stray areas. Not only is this a polish I’m thrilled to have in my collection, I am happy that I did a small part in supporting the National Breast Cancer Foundation.


And just a quick PSA to wrap up this post:

  • Support and awareness are great, but to make a difference we actually have to act, be it with time or money. Just because you post a photo of a ribbon design or repost a banner about some type of cancer or disease does not mean you’ve done anything. Share what organizations you donate your time or money to. Tell us who you’re honoring or in who’s memory you’re acting.
  • Be wary of items that claim to support the movement, but at the same time sell products that contribute to the product and/or are not associated with a 501c3 and pocket all of the profits. (Seriously, look up “pinkwashing“)
  • The language we associate with cancer, like “fight” or “battle” has actually been shown to do absolutely nothing – these call to actions do not help us change our behavior to help avoid cancer or any other health issues and may even be harmful. (See also, post in The Guardian)
  • The definition of “cancer” is, “the disease caused by an uncontrolled division of abnormal cells in a part of the body.” Each of us has our own, unique DNA so my normal cell that works in my body, could be considered abnormal in yours. Abnormal is different for every. single. person. Breast cancer in me is not the same as breast cancer in you. That’s why treatments are hard to figure out. That’s why it’s so hard to find a cure.

Of course, if I’m going to talk the talk, I need to walk the walk. So, even though I’m almost two months late on the “Child Cancer Awareness” thing, I’m donating money to Team Kriete via GoFundMe. A young, wonderful, boy I babysat and who is a close family friend, was diagnosed with Ewing Sarcoma late this summer. They are a hard working and lovely family who deserve all the help they can get.

Leave a Reply

