#ManiMonday, September 21

So I really dropped the ball on this one. Last week I worked all 7 days. It’s been a rough end of September (and really just the beginning of the busiest volunteer season).

Last week, I wanted to rock out the last Monday of Summer with a lovely pink polish. I had gotten a lovely set of water decals from KBShimmer and thought it would make an excellent combination.

The Inspiration
Sage Floral Water Slide Decal from KBShimmer

IMG_3859

The Polish
Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Tropical Mojito
Zoya Polish in Happi
Zoya Polish in
Dream Polish Gem Glam Top Coat in Sun & Sand

IMG_0027

The Tools
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Pre-Polish Nail Treatment
KBShimmer Sage Floral Water Slide Detail
Lush Lemony Flutter Cuticle Butter
SweetBabyByDonna Crystal Glass Nail File
Jolie Polish Clean-up Brush
Tweezers/Scissors/Water

GZNJ8985

The Finished Product

IMG_3877

I wasn’t the biggest fan of this “metallic pink” but I am happy I tried it. This polish also chipped very quickly – by the end of the day on Monday, I had to remove all the polish because it was that bad.

In regards to the water slide decal – it was the coolest thing ever! The decal is super easy to use:

  1. Cut out the piece that you want/need
  2. Soak it in water for 10 seconds
  3. Slide it off the backing paper
  4. Place it on the nail of your choice and press down
  5. Put on your favorite top coat and use acetone/nail polish remover to clean up the edges

The important part is that you follow the base color directions provided. I went with a nude even though it was recommended to use white. I think it came out okay, but the decal would have definitely been more vibrant had I used the white. Another fun tip: make sure that you wait for your nail(s) to dry enough before applying the water decal. Application will not work if you’ve already put a quick dry top coat on (I’ve tried it, it was disappointing).

I’m definitely looking into finding more water decals. KBShimmer has a pretty good variety, but I definitely want more!

Leave a Reply

