#ManiMonday, September 14

The sun is setting on summer 2015. For the last full week of summer, I wanted to do one last summery hurrah before transitioning into fall inspired/themed manicures. What did I do? A sunset, of course!

One of my favorite, end of summer sunset photos is one my mom and I took when we went on vacation to San Diego when I was in high school. While the color of the sunset is predominantly orange and a little dark, it feels like the end of summer.

The Inspiration

San Diego, 2006 family vacation, beach, and a sunset.
San Diego, 2006

The Polish
Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Tropical Mojito
Love, Angeline Chateau Macaron Collection –
Meringue Tango
Con-fection-ary Yellow
Summer Sorbet
Baiser De Mousse 
Dream Polish Ultra Wax Top Coat in Hawaiian Orchard

IMG_3799

The Tools
KBShimmer Mani Shot in Pink Sugar (not pictured)
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Pre-Polish Nail Treatment
Jolie Polish Nooks and Crannies
Jolie Polish Clean-up Brush
SweetBabybyDonna Crystal Nail File
Up & Up Latex Free Makeup Wedge 
Nail Clippers
Lush Lemony Flutter Cuticle Butter

IMG_3797

The Finished Product

IMG_3791

Having the time and being in desperate need of revitalization, I kicked this whole mani off with KBShimmer’s Pink Sugar Mani Shot. The scent was light and delicate, not too overpowering (I liked it much better than the maple bacon!). My hands felt so good when I finally decided I was ready to take them out. Once I did, I pat them dry and let them air out for a few minutes before starting my mani. (Water gets absorbed into the nail and expands, so as it dries, it contracts and can cause cracks/chips in your polish if you don’t wait long enough).

As with any great gradient, I painted on a thin coat of the white polish to start. Creating the gradient was rough going – I had to cut my nails (yet again) because I’ve been too rough with them at work causing breakages, so there wasn’t a lot of nail to work with. I luckily managed to get some cool color mixing to happen, but before the top coat it looked rough and lumpy and just not so good. The Ultra Wax Top Coat was really great though – it kept everything matte, smoothed out all my issues, brought out the slight shimmer, smells wonderful, and dried pretty quickly.

IMG_3786After I was sure everything dried, I slathered my hands in Lemony Flutter. They’ve been so dry from all the acetone abuse they’ve faced in the past week. In combination with the Mani Shot, my hands, fingers, and cuticles feel so much better. I really need to be more consistent with my hand/nail care routine!

I’m a huge fan of how the colors all work together and really blend to make a soft sunset. I feel like this manicure is pretty delicate and versatile. I feel really girly and pretty leaving it as it is, but I could totally spice it up with a black silhouette of a palm tree to make it more tropical or using vinyls with a black polish to make it more edgy.

Leave a Reply

