#ManiMonday, September 7

Happy Labor Day, all! I hope everyone is enjoying this last hurrah of summer with barbecues, parades, fireworks, and fun.

Labor Day was created by the labor movement as a “workingman’s holiday” to celebrate the worker’s contributions to America’s prosperity and social/economic achievements. The first Labor Day was on the first Monday in September 1882. It was celebrated by the Central Labor Union in New York City. They spread this idea throughout the network of unions throughout the United States and so it became the day it is today.

To this day, we’re not sure who the founder of Labor Day is. For sake of argument/loyalty to my state, I’m going to thank Mr. Matthew Maguire, a machinist union member from Paterson, NJ. He was the secretary of the Central Labor Union in NYC in 1882, during which time he proposed the idea.

This week’s mani celebrates everything Labor Day stands for (summer, sun, barbecues, parades, fireworks, beach, etc.) and also honors the great state of New Jersey where it was essentially founded.

The Inspiration
The Jersey Shore – Island Beach State Park

I took this photo in April 2014 while I was hanging out with my grandpa
I took this photo in April 2014 while I was hanging out with my grandpa

The Polish
Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Tropical Mojito
Philly Loves Lacquer in Island Beach and Under the Board Walk
KBShimmer Clearly On Top Quick Dry Top Coat

image

The Tools
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Pre-Polish Nail Treatment
Jolie Polish Clean Up Brush
Dotting Tool
SweetBabybyDonna Cuticle Oil in Pink Sugar

image

The Finished Product

image

Island Beach and Under The Boardwalk were from PhLL’s Summer Down the Shore Collection released in June 2014. It was a truly lovely collection and I wanted them all, but being on a limited budget at the time, I could only pick a few. Island Beach made the cut because that’s the beach my family frequents when we go down the shore. Also, the sandy, shimmery color was beautiful. I had a color from Essie that was similar to Island Beach called “Chips, No Potatoes,” but the bottle broke in 2010 and it was discontinued prior to that, so I had been looking for something to replace it ever since. Under the Boardwalk was purchased because I love the song of the same name by The Drifters. It’s a very unique, dark, shimmery purple that, I think, is a perfect interpretation of the murky depths that exist under the pier (especially here in New Jersey).

I wanted to find a way to incorporate both of these colors into my mani for today. Not having much time before we left to see my sister in the parade, I also wanted to keep it simple. I made Island Beach my base and did a simple curved line of dots in Under the Boardwalk on my ring finger as an accent nail. I was surprised by how well this worked because in the the bottle, the colors don’t look like they go together. I think this manicure is a great, if abstract, salute to my state and the last hurrahs of summer.

Leave a Reply

