Inspired: My Brother

IMG_3413
Joe at boot camp

My parents divorced when I was eight. Since then, I’ve been the fortunate daughter of two sets of parents, both of which have given me a wonderful assortment of younger siblings.

The first of these siblings is my brother, Joe. He’s two years younger than me.

On Friday, September 4th, he graduated from boot camp. This is beyond a huge accomplishment and I could not be more proud. I am so happy for him to have found the military, a group of great and dedicated individuals he can call true friends, a purpose, and a career.

Today, we are celebrating his success. I got him some Tito’s Vodka and a few little air plane bottles to sample since alcohol is against the rules during bootcamp. To share my pride and excitement, I wanted to do my nails in his honor.

IMG_3634I did camouflage nails because he’s in the Army! As per usual, I used Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Tropical Mojito and KBShimmer Clearly On Top Quick Dry Top Coat to sandwich the polish. But, PLOT TWIST, I didn’t use one indie color for this one. Revlon Colorstay 320 – Trade Winds was my base color, then I used Revlon Brilliant Strength 160 – Dominate, Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy 520 Blackjack, and Essie Pretty Edgy on a makeup sponge to get the camo-esque pattern on my nails.

IMG_3633This would have been an excellent opportunity to use my Nooks and Crannies from Jolie Polish, but I forgot to grab it before I started the process and didn’t want risk messing anything up to get it. Instead, I used my trusty Jolie Polish clean-up brush and a ridiculous amount of acetone to get the excess polish of my fingers, which left my cuticles and fingers super dry. I fixed that with The Body Shop’s Absinthe Purifying Hand Butter (it smells great and is super moisturizing; unfortunately it is a little on the greasy side).

IMG_3632

Leave a Reply

