#ManiMonday, August 24

I spent some much needed time cleaning my room this weekend. While folding and putting away clothes, I realized there is so much stuff I really just need to get out of my drawers. Everything that doesn’t fit can be donated for sure, but what do I do with my sorority, band, and university t-shirts that have sentimental value? I decided that a t-shirt quilt was the way to go (I’ve seen a few of my sorority sisters do this and the results have been pretty positive, so why not?). Knowing that I will have to send all my t-shirts away and never get to wear them again, I got nostalgic, and decided to wear one of my favorites one last time.

On top of that, I got some awesome nail mail on Friday (that I mentioned in my last post). One of the colors from KBShimmer, called Shore Thing, is pretty much a spot on match for the t-shirt that is my inspiration. I say it was destiny.

The Inspiration
Kappa Kappa Gamma – Delta Kappa Bid Day 2013 t-shirt

IMG_3440

The Polish
Dream Polish Smooth Gem Base Coat in Tropical Mojito
KBShimmer Shore Thing
Philly Loves Lacquer Gold on the Ceiling
KBShimmer Clearly on Top Quick Dry Top Coat

IMG_3448

The Tools
Jolie Polish Clean-up Brush
SweetBaby by Donna Cuticle Oil in Summer Carnival

IMG_3449

The Finished Product

IMG_3446

IMG_3452

I really just can’t get over how clean and classic this manicure is. I’ve always loved PhLL’s Gold on the Ceiling – it makes me feel like a rockstar and I try to wear it as an accent as often as possible (for this mani, I used 3 coats, but it can also be used as a topper because it is so sheer). My new KBShimmer polish, Shore Thing is perfect and creamy. Application was a breeze. These nails almost make me feel like a mermaid and it’s a nice reminder that summer’s not over just yet.

4 thoughts on “#ManiMonday, August 24

    1. Thank you! I do have more cuticle oils, but this particular one just smells so delicious that I can’t help but be obsessive with it.

      I also have cuticle oils from KBShimmer and use Lemony Flutter from Lush as well as Absinthe Purifying Hand Butter from The Body Shop.

      I’m actually really bad with hand care/health/maintenance and don’t apply any of these products nearly as much as I should, so this is definitely not my area of expertise. The cuticle oil pens are really great though – they are easily controllable and pretty much stay in the area you apply it. This is especially true versus Lemony Flutter/Purifying Hand Butter since they need to be applied by hand, tend to get all over, and although super moisturizing, do leave hands slippery/greasy.

      1. Hmm yeah I’m the same way, that’s why I was curious. I’m trying to find a few more nice products, so I’ll definitely try those out. I looove cuticle oil pens! Right now I used some (as well as the balm) from Dream Polish.

Leave a Reply

