Review: Zoya Naked Manicure

The other day, I saw this add on Facebook featuring Zoya’s new Naked Manicure system that helps “treat, correct, and protect” nails, promising to improve the appearance of nails immediately and in the long term. As someone who constantly wear’s nail polish, I’m always looking for something that will help make my nails stronger and helps discoloration, so I checked out all the details on the Zoya website.

The Kit
The Kit
The Contents
The Contents
Before
Before

Besides the promise of healthier, more beautiful nails, I thought the variety of color options to make the manicure match the true color of your nail beds, making the system incredibly customizable, was really cool. I pretty much wanted to buy all of them, but I’m a pretty standard white girl, so I went with the Women’s Nail Perfecting Kit containing the Naked Manicure Naked Base, Pink Perfector, Tip Perfector, and Satin Seal. It was a good choice.

My nails looked a little rough from removing my previous manicure in pure acetone. After all the fun colors, I was really looking forward to some natural [looking] nails. First I applied the Naked Base, then two coats of the Pink Perfector, a swipe of the Tip Perfector a cross the top of my nail, and after a good shake, a coat of the Satin Seal to finish it all off.

Naked Manicure
Naked Manicure

The base and the Pink Perfector were great. While I love the idea of a neutral, natural french manicure, I wasn’t loving the Tip Perfector – I’m not skilled enough to make everything as even and as nice as I would like. (From far away, it wasn’t so bad but up close I drove myself insane looking at all the imperfections). Practice makes perfect though, so I’ll just have to keep at it. But for those days when I can’t deal with jacked up lines, I think two coats of the Pink Perfector will be fine. The real superstar of this kit is the Satin Seal. It is beautiful, matte, and actually does blur imperfections. Honestly, the Satin Seal makes the manicure. It’s ONLY downfall is that it’s not quick dry, but such a minor detail compared to its awesomeness.

Natural nails, SweetBabybyDonna cuticle oil
Natural nails, SweetBabybyDonna cuticle oil

I wore this naked manicure from late Tuesday to late Friday (I would have worn it longer, but I painted my sisters’ nails for their upcoming Bermuda cruise/vacation and it required taking off the nail polish they already had on, so there went mine too). I was pretty impressed with the results for such a short timeframe. My nails feel stronger and I think they look a little bit healthier. I’ll have to wear the polish for a longer period of time to determine the actual long term effects. But overall, I’m very happy to have purchased the kit and am really pleased with the look and feel of the polish, as well as the appearance of my natural nails once it had been removed.

I would recommend this system to anyone and everyone. The kit comes with details about the polish/system, instructions, and four polishes. At $25 per kit, the polishes work out to a nice $6.25 each, which is almost $4.00 less than if you were to buy the Naked polishes individually. If you plan on using this system consistently and over the long term, the kit is SO worth it. I can’t wait until I start running out of ideas for #ManiMonday so I can just wear this for a solid week straight.

One thought on “Review: Zoya Naked Manicure

Leave a Reply

