#ManiMonday, July 20

Two weeks ago, I was on Instagram and I saw the coolest nail art mani – it was a sunset gradient with pine tree silhouettes. All I wanted to do in that moment was go camping and watch the sun set over a mountain littered with coniferous trees. It was beautiful.

In an effort to expand my nail polish horizons and use some polishes I haven’t tapped into before, I decided to go with a twilight gradient using Smokey Mountain Lacquers “Oh My Eyes” collection “My Cup of Teal,” “Twilight Twist,” and “Grape Expectations.” I also used a wonderful black holo from Philly Loves Lacquer, a small batch polish called “SBP #104” that I got during the holidays. Also, this is my first attempt at free-handing nail art, so I’m really pumped.

The Inspiration
@Nailstorming – “Silhouette trees over a sunset gradient”

Inspiration

The Polish
KBShimmer Basic Training Nail Polish Base Coat
Smokey Mountain Lacquers My Cup of Teal, Twilight Twist, and Grape Expectations
Philly Loves Lacquers SBP #104
Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy Blackjack
KBShimmer Clearly On Top Quick Dry Top Coat

IMG_2933

The Tools
SweetBabybyDonna Crystal Glass Nail File
KBShimmer Nail Prep pH Balancing Prep
Jolie Polish Nooks & Crannies Liquid Latex
Up & Up Cosmetic Wedges
Jolie Polish Clean-up Brush
SweetBabybyDonna Cuticle Oil in Summer Carnival
Detailing Brush (I don’t remember the brand, sorry!)

IMG_2934

The Finished Product

IMG_2932

Right
Right Hand, Flash Off, Pre-Art
Left
Left Hand, Flash On
The Nail Art
The Nail Art

The nail art was pretty challenging and being that I’m not ambidextrous, I attempted the trees on my left hand. Taking that into consideration, I’m pretty proud of how this came out. Also, the gradient turned out the exactly the way I wanted it – the shimmery, holo goodness of all four polishes make it look like there are stars in the night sky.

I thought the original mani made me want to go camping, but oh man, the one I’m wearing this week makes me want to even more. To make due with the reality I can’t go camping, you’ll probably be able to find me in my back yard every evening this week making s’mores in my fire pit. Come join me if you’re around.

Leave a Reply

